RSS Feed

Grow Up

My in-laws are proud of how youngish they appear. Plastic surgery, dieting and designer clothes are part of their daily activities. 

After my miscarriage several years ago the first thing they said to me while I was recovering three days post D&C was, “While we are sorry you had to go through this, we are rather happy because we just weren’t ready to be grandparents yet.”

It is with no surprise then that my toddler son and baby girl do not have paternal grandparents in any sense of the word.

7 responses »

  1. oh man, that’s harsh.

    Reply
  2. Seriously, where do these people come from?

    Reply
  3. My MIL had DH when she was 16 so being a grandmother at 35 wasn’t a stretch for her.

    After my first miscarriage, when I was at one of the lowest points in my life, my MIL decided to comfort me by saying:

    “You’re not the only one who is hurting. You lost MY grandchild.”

    Funny – I don’t think I left him in the buggy at WallyWorld.

    Now that a grandson IS here I’m thankful on a regular basis she lives 6 hours away. I wish it were further.

    Reply
  4. Wow – and you didn’t slap her for that?? I can’t even imagine someone saying something like that ever, especially at a time like that.

    Reply
  5. Wow, that is amazingly self-centered, psychotic really.

    Reply
  6. dil in wisconsin

    That was pretty harsh of them. Whenever the subject of children comes up, my MIL is sure to point out that she is uninterested in babysitting for our unborn children and that she doesn’t want any toys or anything relating to babies at her house. I wonder what she will think when the time comes and she never gets to see her grandchildren?

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Baby Stuff » Blog Archive » Grow Up In-Laws Suck

Leave a Reply

