RSS Feed

Oh, Don’t Mind the Woman in Pain in the Corner

While I was in the hospital recovering from a c-section, we had mentioned to our in-laws that we didn’t want anyone visiting but family since I just wasn’t up for visitors. What with lying in a hospital bed bleeding and not being showered. The in-laws were of course inconsiderate and brought in their friends that they would be staying with. No one asked us or informed us that they would be coming. I had only met these people once.

When my husband told his father that what he did was rude, he said, “But they’re family. They’ve known you since you were a baby.” My husband had to remind my hardheaded FIL that I was the one in the hospital bed, not him. It was up to me who visited and who didn’t.

When I got home from the hospital, MIL was in my kitchen making all of her son’s favorite foods. (Including gassy foods that new breastfeeding mothers shouldn’t eat.) Hello?! I am the one who just had surgery, is in pain and trying to learn how to breastfeed. How about accommodating me and not your son who is feeling fine.

3 responses »

  1. And that’s why my MIL won’t be getting a call until after we are all home from the hospital.

    Not kidding one bit.

    Sorry to hear about your story.

    Reply
  2. How inconsiderate! I can hear the mother in law now “well, they will just have to be fine with it” No way lady!

    As for cooking all of those foods – she really should have asked what was ok to eat – how does she know you aren’t allergic to something – or does she not realize that what you eat, the baby eats??

    Reply
  3. I thought something was wrong with me when I nearly turned into a demon from hell after my husband invited, aginst my will, the inlaws to the hospital for our second son’s birth. And, they were at our home when we were discharged, living with us for several days. Great people….. but still needed that space. I even needed that space from my parents. I get just as mad today just thinking about it..and this happend 3 years ago. I ask God in my prayers to help me forgive.. and forget.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

