RSS Feed

The In-Sanes

We’ve been married for 3 years, with a blended family of our 2 girls from previous marriages (7 and 8 yrs old) and our son together. We try our hardest to make it work, we love being “a family”

But my insane in-laws won’t let that happen! They are obsessed (that’s putting it mildly) with their 8 yr old granddaughter (may I mention they have 6 grandchildren total). They spoil Her, only visit Her, they ignore our other children, or as coined “children from THAT woman”. 

They say I’m obsessed and a control freak because I want the kids to spend time together, since my step-daughter doesn’t live here and only visits once a month. And they blame everything in the world (probably even the war in Iraq ) on me. The last thing my MIL said was that I was intolerable and in need of a lobotomy. And my FIL says he’s hated me from the second time he met me.  I’ve booked that for next week (haha).

I’m lucky though, my husband is amazing. He supports me 110% and thinks his parents are freaking crazy!  So now I have the daunting responsibility of trying to explain to my daughter, who they excepted at first and insisted she call them grandparents, that they want nothing to do with her.  I thank god my son is only 2 and can’t comprehend this!

4 responses »

  1. With such toxic behavior, I’d want nothing to do with them. If there isn’t any good they can bring to the relationship, distance yourself (and your family, if your husband is willing) from them. No one needs that much agita. Hang in there!

    Reply
  2. I al so have a blended family. I have 3 children (all adults now) and my husband has a son who is 14 and a daughter who is 11. We also have 4 grandchildren. My point is, when we got married we told all parents that the children will be treated equally. If something is bought for one, then it is bought for all. We will not tolorate it any other way.

    Maybe you need to set some rules for the in-laws. Either they will treat ALL the children equally or they will see NONE of the children at all.

    Shame on them for making one or more children feel inferior.

    By the way, I have wonderful in-laws and thank God for that everyday. They did slip once and wanted only for one child but we put our foot down and they now understand.

    Hope this helps. It breaks my heart to hear that children are not treated the same.

    Reply
  3. I’ve been the step-child in that situation and it NEVER feels good, that’s for sure. My dad was actually the one that would always make my family take my step-brother anytime me and my brother went (not that my family objected but it was something he insisted on). My step-mom on the other hand never said a word when his grandparents just wanted him and never made an effort to get to know my brother or I. Of course my dad was part of the problem because he let her get away with that but what are you going to do now? Good luck in dealing with the situation though, I’m sure it’s very difficult.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The Crazies – Part 3 (and Hopefully the Finale) « In-Laws Suck

Leave a Reply

