RSS Feed

Ding-Dong

My FIL, in all his glorious fattitude, refuses to use our front door when he comes to visit because there are three steps up to the porch.

Instead, he drives his vehicle around to the garage doors to see if they are open. If they are, he will pull in if one of the stalls is empty (less distance to walk, don’t you know).

If the doors are down, he will honk his horn until one of us opens the garage doors for him.

This weekend, while my husband was gone, he stopped by and did just this.

Up to that point, I had contemplated adding a wireless doorbell to the pedestrian door to our garage so he can ring it and let us know he’s there. Now I’m thinking, “screw him” because he’s even too lazy to get out of the car to ring it.

By the way, this last time he honked while my husband was gone? I pretended I didn’t hear him and he drove away.

5 responses »

  1. I think I would always pretend not to hear him. If he’s too lazy to walk up to the door, then I would be to lazy to walk to open the garage doors.

    Reply
  2. Oh, yes! I completely agree with Mother Hoodwink. Grrrr.

    Reply
  3. dilinwisconsin

    I totally agree – it makes sense to me – it is your garage, who says he needs to be parking in it…no one else who visits typically behaves that way. I would have done the same thing.

    Reply
  4. Good on you! I’d ignore him too. That’s just plain ignorant to honk!

    Reply
  5. Good for you, how annoying!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

