RSS Feed

No Thank You

Early July was my birthday. Par for the course, my MIL sent me a card with my gift enclosed. I will admit that it was a very generous gift, so later that day, we went to their house and I personally thanked her for it. I also let her know at that time that she has the wrong house number for our address, but luckily her card was delivered to us, and told her the correct one but wasn’t sure why I bothered as she had been a bit “tipsy”.

Fast forward about four weeks and she brings a check to my husband (her son) where he works with instructions to open a savings account for our newborn.

Then last night, my husband comes home after stopping by the in-laws house and tells me that MIL is pissed at me because I didn’t thank her for the baby’s check, but instead had the gall to “bitch her out for sending it to the wrong address”.

What the f*ck?!

At first he couldn’t figure out what the hell she was talking about because we weren’t mailed the check for the baby; plus he was there a month earlier when I thanked her for the check. Then he figured it out and realized in her “altered” state, she had lost track of time and events. He came to my defense and not only reminded her that she hand delivered the check, which he personally thanked her for, but that I was nothing but kind about the address confusion, to which he added that she has been told more than once that she has our address wrong.

What pisses me off is that I had seen MIL the night before she said these things to my husband and acted as sweet as pie to my face while she must have been thinking what an ungrateful whore I was. However, I should know better since she’s always bad-mouthing her DILs behind their backs to anyone who will listen, even if it’s to their husbands.

One response »

  1. At least your MIl gave you a card! I don’t receive birthday cards nor do we receive anniversary cards. I “stopped” remembering everyone else’s after a few years of being “forgotten.” Tit for tat, guess I’m just as much to blame.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

