RSS Feed

In-Law Complaint By Proxy

I am going to complain about my family on my husband’s behalf. This complaint involves a SIL, a BIL, and a AIL (aunt).

First off, I have been wanting a break from my aunt for awhile. She is my (dead) dad’s childless older sister. She wants to visit my toddler every Sunday. My husband and I both work long hours and really cherish our weekends. It is kind of pain to have her come over for two hours every Sunday and interrupt our family time. We also don’t want her to take the kid for two hours because we want to spend time with the kid.

Anyway, my aunt got her kid time in on Saturday this weekend because I was having a garage sale, so I told her she could go with my husband to the kid’s swim lesson to help him out. She did and then she spent a considerable amount of time at the house afterwards. I was safe in the driveway, but my poor husband had his free time encroached upon.

My mom normally has family dinner on Sunday but it was canceled this week. I was a little bummed because I had been thinking that would be a good time to visit with my step-brother who is in town. So, my mom ended up inviting just us over. My sister and BIL were taking the aunt to dinner and a movie that night and my step-sister had been over the day before, so we were looking forward to a low-key evening with just my parents and my step-brother.

Since my sister had plans during family dinner time, she wanted to come over to our house earlier in the day to visit with the kid since they wouldn’t have seen her all week. I told my sister that we were pretty busy and I hadn’t firmed up times for a couple things, so I would have to let her know. She let me know that early morning and mid-afternoon would work well with her schedule. I laughed and told her we don’t want morning visitors. She got more specific and said, “Ok, we can come over from 3-4.” I told her I would let her know.

We ended up being busy until 3:50 on Sunday. I called my sister because I said I would, even though I knew she probably wouldn’t be able to do anything about it, and told her that we would be going over to my parents’ house shortly and if she wanted to visit the kid, she could do it there. She couldn’t, of course, because of the movie time.

We had the nice, enjoyable, low-key evening we were expecting at my parents’ house. After dinner, we were hanging out in the family room. The men were watching the Lakers game. My mom was in the kitchen making Amish friendship bread. I was looking through sales fliers and the kid was playing quietly on the floor. Then, my sister, BIL, and aunt showed up and everything went to shit.

There weren’t enough seats in the family room for everyone, so my sister brought in some folding chairs. It was instantly crowded and noisy. My BIL took the kid out in the backyard and got her all riled up and let her get into the pool toys and bring them in the house. My sister and aunt talked through the whole game, pissing off my step-dad and my step-brother (he went out front to make calls on his cell phone to get away). My aunt called my kid “unsociable” because the kid wanted to play with what she wanted to play with and wouldn’t come over to the aunt’s chair whenever the aunt wanted her to. Also, my aunt kept torturing my kid by trying to hold her when she didn’t want to be held, and make her give my aunt hugs and kisses when she didn’t want to, which totally pisses me off because she just keeps insisting long after it is apparent that the kid isn’t going to give in.

So, it was finally coming to an end, they were heading out to a restaurant for dinner. I heard the kid whining in the other room and my aunt saying, “Give me kiss.” I yelled, “Quit torturing her!” A minute later my aunt walked into the family room and said, “Well, that wasn’t any fun.” I assumed she was referring to stopping by uninvited* to visit the kid and the kid not obeying her every command, and I said, “She wasn’t put on this planet to entertain you.” Before I even got my sentence out, my husband said, “She’s not your plaything.” My aunt said, “I never said she was!” got mad and stormed out.

I don’t think she’s ever stormed out on me before or got mad at me like that, so I was a little shocked, but I was still more irritated by the whole visit than anything else, so I wasn’t really sorry about it. Now, I do feel a little guilty, but maybe I can get a break from her for awhile.

*After they left, I found out that my sister had called while my mom was in the kitchen after dinner to ask if we were still there and if they could come over. I told my mom that a little heads up would have been nice. I don’t like being forced to visit with people against my will.

-Irritated with My Husband’s In-Laws

4 responses »

  1. The thing with your aunt would drive me crazy too. I think it’s wonderful that since that she doesn’t have her own kids that she is close to your family (we have an uncle like that), but every single weekend would be a bit much for me. I definitely think it’s time to set a few boundaries since you are feeling frustrated about the lack of down time with just you, hubby and child. And I don’t think it’s unreasonable to explain that children (like adults) need personal space and that forcing your child to give hugs and kisses is unacceptable. Most toddler books have a section discussing this exact situation that you could show her.

    Reply
  2. the problem is the author of this post?! in what way? she has a pushy, over-bearing aunt who doesn’t respect the personal space and boundaries of others. maybe the (husband’s) SIL and BIL aren’t so bad in this post, but the aunt seriously needs some lessons in how to deal with others, especially children. just because she’s old doesn’t mean she can just do stuff like that.

    Reply
  3. My ex-MIL use to want us to visit every single weekend. One day, I just said, “I’m not seeing her this weekend. I need time to myself. You go if you want to.”

    Your aunt just doesn’t seem to know what boundaries are. Not to be harsh, but it sounds like she needs to get a life – go out and make friends, and do things that don’t involve you. And forcing a child to hug and kiss you is not cool either.

    Reply
  4. This woman sounds like a narcissitic bi***. “After they left, I found out that my sister had called while my mom was in the kitchen after dinner to ask if we were still there and if they could come over. I told my mom that a little heads up would have been nice. I don’t like being forced to visit with people against my will” What you mean Heads up. You said yourself your sister tried to make plans with you several times and you couldn’t be bothered in the morning and never committed to a time whatsoever. You sound completely selfish and I wonder if your child’s boundaries are actually being violated or your teaching her to be selfish too, since you only call her “the kid” like she’s an object and sound like you’re #1 issue iwht anyone is ahving to share or do anything that’s not on your terms. You sound bloody awful & you’re the only poster on this site where I feel sorry for the other family members – not you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

